Defensive Carry banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was reading about the man who was boarded by coast guard in florida and wanted to comment . I had to figure out how to register first .now I don't know how to find the site again

·
Registered
2,858 Posts
Good luck and howdy from Ohio. Stay around and enjoy the learning and conversations.

·
Registered
2,167 Posts
Welcome from Southwest Florida.

·
Super Moderator
50,612 Posts
Welcome...

from Central Florida!

ret :31:

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks high pockets.thats the one I was looking for. Im a commercial fisherman whos been boarded by coast guard many times.i catch live bait for a living usually within 10 miles of my business . I work the inside waters of texas and never go out in the gulf of mexico. They always identify themselves as they are coming aboard. That's not my complaint. What I am trying to learn without success is if they have a right to take my weapons fo no reason. They always ask if theres any weapons on board and I always tell them the truth. Then they unload them and give the bullets to one team member and the guns to another team member then they stand on opposite sides of my boat while another one does safety inspection.what I want to know is do I have to hand over my guns to them. They say its for their safety .im not worried about their safety because there are usually 6 or more all with shotguns and sidearms. They saw its a vessel safety inspection .they pass my business 4 or 5 times a day and could check my boat at the dock any time they wanted to but always wait until I'm out working where every thing has to be done fast to keep my bait alive. Every time I tell myself I'm not going to give up my weapons but then I look at all of them standing there with shotguns.

·
Registered
7,973 Posts
Welcome from South Carolina...

·
Premium Member
6,726 Posts