Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
310 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
There was a report on the local NBC affiliate this evening about the color coating of guns. They reported that the local law enforcement is against color coating a gun any color but gray or black, otherwise it looks like a toy gun. I can see their point to a certain extent. On the other hand, if someone points what looks like a gun at me, I would shoot, no matter the color. I find it hard to believe that a jury would find an officer guilty of some negligent crime because of that reason alone. Apparently the "Brady bunch" is advocating to law enforcement that they should put pressure on the companies who do the color coating to stop it.

There are so many toy guns out there that look like the real thing, why would color make a difference? Heck, I have black Ring's guns. If I was an officer and someone was pointing one of those at me, I would think it was the real thing. Perhaps where an officer might "struggle" is if a gun was colored in either the shade of red or blue that's used by ASP and Ring's. I think that would quickly be associated with "training". But if the gun had a black circle/dot at the tip of the barrel, I would probably associate it with the potential of being a real gun, but I think the first thought would be "that's not a real gun."

Your thoughts?

·
Administrator
143,573 Posts
I've Seen Them

In Bright Red & Powder Blue & Light Purple.
I could see how they could get taken for toy guns.

·
Registered
988 Posts
Depending on the situation, you have to react to the threat as you percieve it. If you percieve the bright pink "gun" to be just that, you have to react to that assesment. I saw a pink coated slide on an XD and it sorta looked like a toy. Obviously that would be a mistake to believe that pink XD was only a toy if it were being pointed at you!

·
Registered
2,292 Posts