1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
4,513 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
8,646 Posts
When I worked in the scuba industry, we saw tremendous consolidation of the business as smaller companies were snapped up by larger ones. This happened in the late 1990s and accelerated from 2000-2010. This is not surprising in the firearms industry as the larger conglomerates snap up the smaller companies. I suspect we will continue to see this type of thing happening.

·
Registered
4,185 Posts
It’s possible Colt found out they either need to drastically improve the value of their long guns relative to other makers, or face unsustainable financial losses.

If they can’t compete, ceding that saturated market to others isn’t a bad call, as long as they reinvest in other areas they can grow market share in.

·
Registered
34,623 Posts
Colt has been sliding downhill since it lost its military contract. Apparently its long-gun sales don't merit its expenses. The competition for ARs and components is stiff.

·
Registered
8,504 Posts
It’s possible Colt found out they either need to drastically improve the value of their long guns relative to other makers, or face unsustainable financial losses.

If they can’t compete, ceding that saturated market to others isn’t a bad call, as long as they reinvest in other areas they can grow market share in.
But what area could they grow market share in? Their ARs were a gold standard. They are known for 1911s, but every manufacturer is making 1911s now, some better than Colt. They only seem to be expanding in DA revolvers. That will probably be somewhat successful, but I don't see it setting the house afire.

·
Banned
2,103 Posts
I think that @graydude is right in saying: