Defensive Carry banner

Of the three, which would you choose and why?

• Ruger SR1911 Lightweight Commander

Votes: 37 61.7%
  • Kimber Pro Carry II

Votes: 15 25.0%
  • Rock Island Ultra MS (Model 51487)

Votes: 8 13.3%

• Total voters
1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
568 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
While I really like my Colt Defender, and I shoot it quite well, I'm considering going to a Commander sized 1911 for carry. I've been looking over options and I THINK I have my choices narrowed down to three.

Rock Island Armory Rock Ultra MS

Kimber Pro Carry II

Ruger SR1911 Lightweight.

The most attractive thing about the Rocky is the price, but I've had no experience with them. They DO have a lifetime warranty though.
The most attractive thing about the Ruger is the titanium feed ramp and Ruger's customer service.
The Kimber is the in-between, both price and otherwise. I'm not sure I'm feeling the 4" barrel, but the exterior fit/finish on Kimbers, in my experience, is usually pretty good.

So, with an $875-ish budget, which of the three would you choose, and why? Or, is there another entry in this range I should consider (ATI, Fusion, etc)?

For my own reasons, Colt isn't in the picture on this one.

·
Registered
1,781 Posts
Personally, I'd get the Rock Island. I have handled a few of them and they are a lot of gun for the money.

That said, I don't think you could go wrong with the Kimber or Ruger. My buddy had a Kimber 1911 Gov't that was brilliant right out of the box, and Ruger makes top notch gun IMO.

I'm not sure that helps though...

·
Super Moderator
19,238 Posts