Defensive Carry banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, I have been all over the Internet trying to find some details regarding a sort of detailed question about concealed carry in Montana. I am currently a resident of Washington but will be a resident in Montana in about a year. Time to leave the big city life. So here are my questions.

1. I know that I am covered in Montana with my Washington carry permit. Is it legal in Montana for me to carry concealed in a vehicle if I have a passenger that has been convicted of a felony in Montana about 10 years ago?

2. In the future when I move to Montana and have a Montana issued carry permit can I carry in a vehicle when I have a passenger that has been convicted of a felony in Montana about 10 years ago?

The reason I ask is that I have an old friend who lives in Montana that was convicted in the past of fraud. Long story but they pleaded no contest and a felony conviction was passed down to them Not a violence felony or anything like that. I am just curious to know if I am within the laws eyes if we are riding together in a vehicle. If anyone could point information to me it would be appreciated.

Thank you

·
Registered
1,644 Posts
first place to start is: Handgunlaw.us

Read both Washington's and Montana's. It is a good idea to look up the laws directly as well (and the above website will tell you where...)

I don't see what your friend being a felon has to do with you carrying. As long as you don't let them have possession of your firearm I don't see an issue. I wouldn't leave it locked in the car and let them borrow my keys either.

just me .02 cents... I am not a lawyer

oh and welcome to the forum!

·
Registered
15,177 Posts
As long as he is not in direct control of a firearm,his being in close proximity to you is not against the law,he may also look at getting his felony expunged since it wasn't a violent felony and if he hasn't been in anymore trouble it's pretty easy to do