Defensive Carry banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a masters student at a private college in pa. I have been wondering if it is leagal for me to carry on campus. I know you are not allowed to carry in a public school as in a high school or a elementary school, but were do we draw the line.

·
Registered
2,867 Posts
I am a masters student at a private college in pa. I have been wondering if it is leagal for me to carry on campus. I know you are not allowed to carry in a public school as in a high school or a elementary school, but were do we draw the line.
Check PA statutes. Some states don't allow carry on any campus (FL, for example) while others don't make it illegal, even though the Univ. Bd of Regents (or whatever you call them) will expel students found with a weapon (even if legal).

·
Registered
203 Posts
You often sign a contract at the beginning of the year if you live in on-campus housing, which states that you will not bring a gun on campus.

It's private, so they can enforce whatever rules on guns they want. Read the "student manual." If there's nothing about guns, then treat it like any other private establishment that you can carry in.

·
Registered
1,387 Posts
Howdy from Hallstead! :wave:

PA Uniform Firearms Act

§912. Possession of Weapon on School Property.

(a) Definition.—Notwithstanding the definition of “weapon” in section 907 (relating to possessing instruments of crime), “weapon” for purposes of this section shall include but not be limited to any knife, cutting instrument, cutting tool, nun-chuck stick, firearm, shotgun, rifle and any other tool, instrument or implement capable of inflicting serious bodily injury.