Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hopefully some of you will take the time to help me out with this. I'll try to be as short as possible.
I am a service technician for a petroleum company. I repair all petroleum equipment at gas stations, car/truck rental places, airports, etc. I'm put in awkward situations all the time during the day and at night where I wish I had my firearm with me just in case things ever escalated, such as a store getting robbed while I have it shut down for repairs. You can see the hostility that some people could have towards me for delaying their day.

Getting to the point, I understand that NC state law mentions "As long as the person has a concealed handgun permit, they can carry a concealed handgun unless specifically prohibited by another law."

I understand that employers can prohibit carry in the workplace or in an extension of the workplace, but two things have to happen. It has to be clearly stated, along with some laws mentioned, in the employee handbook in "black and white", that such company has a "No-Carry Policy". Also, the 30.06 article has to be posted at the workplace in multiple locations/entry-exit.

Now, my workplace has no posted signs, nor does it say clearly in the employee handbook that weapons/firearms are not to be in the workplace, etc.
Here is what it says in clear plain text, and is the only mention of subject matter.

"(Threats and Violence Policy) - Our policy is to strive to maintain a work environment that is free from intimidation, threats or violent acts. This includes, but is not limited to, intimidating, threatening or hostile behaviors, physical abuse, vandalism, arson, sabotage, use of weapons, or any other act, which, in management's opinion, is inappropriate to the workplace."