Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It was rather embarrassing receiving a conditional non approval. I paid cash for a .380 and was told when I went back a week later I was told I couldn't take it home. I am a Florida resident and first time buyer. The only thing that may be affecting this is a.) I didn't use my social security number( but my name is rare) b.) I went AWOL in 2006 but only received an other than honorable discharge. C.) misdemeanors when I was a kid...... I don't get it! I really hope this doesn't take away my right to buy a weapon for my personal safety. I am not a troublemaker or convicted felon. Anyone with suggestions???? I'm pretty bummed out!!!

·
Registered
3,051 Posts
Contact the agency that issued the NA. When you find out what their reasoning was, contact a 2A attorney and let him/her review your case. Most will do an initial review at no charge. It may cost you a bit, but ...

·
Registered
36,326 Posts
Does your state consider a LTOD grounds for refusal? Are you sure that's the reason for the denial?

I've had a few instances of the NICS check coming up with delayed approval, though never a denial.

If you can't get a clear answer through inquiries with your state's authorization body, it might be worth having a brief chat with an attorney who's competent and knowledgeable in firearms- and self-defense related law. If the 2006 incident is what they're citing, there might not be much you can do about that, short of "lawering up" to work with a judge to "correct" things.

·
Registered
11,157 Posts
AWOL in 06??? I am not 100% sure, but that would be my guess as to why you were turned down. As far as getting out of that, I would contact a attorney to see what your options are.

Reactions: onacoma

·
Super Moderator
50,611 Posts
Definitely use an attorney...it will be worth a few C-Notes to get this fixed quickly.
Your ability at SD is at stake here...:yup:

·
Registered
3,508 Posts