Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Banned
447 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys and gals....question. a close friend of mine was in the process of purchasing his very first handgun yesterday. he started to fill out the form and it asked if he has ever been dishonorably discharged. he told me he was discharged from the navy in '97 for failing a drug test. he does not remember if it was considered dishonorable? if it was dishonorable, will that prevent him from purchasing a firearm? the person at the register had no clue, he contacted VA State Police and the person he spoke with had no clue. She suggested he get a background check. just trying to point him in the right direction.
Thank you.

·
Registered
1,932 Posts
I'm no lawyer, but I would imagine it would prevent him from owning one. Especially if it was due to drugs.

·
Registered
635 Posts
He will have to get a copy of his discharge...
It might be under other. Some times the military wont report to the civilian authorities a lot of the incidents...

·
Registered
190 Posts
how could a person NOT remember something like that?
Hey, he failed a drug test. Maybe he doesn't even remember being in the Navy. :rofl:

Seriously, if it was just failing a drug test I'd be surprised if it resulted in a dishonorable discharge. Would probably warrant something less, unless it involved say distribution.

·
Premium Member
2,652 Posts
He can call the VA and they should be able to resolve the question. Actually, the fact that he can’t remember is not a redeeming personal quality and it ranks pretty high on the BS meter. Still, I don’t believe he would receive a Dishonorable Discharge for failing a drug screen alone. It’s more likely there is more to this story that he’s not telling you.
Regards,

·
Registered
245 Posts