Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2,297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question for you guys (and gals). I have a 10/22 (who doesn't?). I love that little rifle. I want to dress it up with a new stock. I'm old school about some things, and in the case of most rifles, I like steel and wood, so I want to keep a wood stock on it. I'm thinking about seeing if I can obtain a 10/22 sporter stock for it. The sporter model has a really nice walnut stock with cut checkering.

So my question is if the 10/22 barreled action can just slip into the sporter stock or if any modifications would need to be made. Also, I don't yet know if I can buy just the stock.

I know the 10/22 is highly customizable but I don't know if it's as easy as just slipping it into a new stock. I'm just beginning to research this, and I will do a web search and youtube search as well. If nothing turns up I will contact Ruger to see how I can proceed.

Thanks in advance for any light you can shine on the subject.

·
Registered
4,283 Posts
Check out ATI out of Flordia.

This is just one example..............: Amazon.com: ati stock 10 22

There are also a long list of folding stocks................. but it all ends up GOOD!

At the end of the day, I would not want to get hit by several rounds from this, or anything else.

·
Registered
1,353 Posts
So my question is if the 10/22 barreled action can just slip into the sporter stock or if any modifications would need to be made.

I know the 10/22 is highly customizable but I don't know if it's as easy as just slipping it into a new stock.
Yes, a barreled action with a sporter barrel should just slip into the walnut sporter stock. I have 3 10-22s, and from time to time will swap out one of my barreled actions into a different stock and have had no problems.

·
Registered
2,297 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Check out ATI out of Flordia.

This is just one example..............: Amazon.com: ati stock 10 22