Defensive Carry banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
694 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The elusive early Gen4 with the "frying pan" finish. I've been hunting for a few months and one was offered in trade for my grey frame G19. The trade didn't work out but I made a cash offer and it was accepted. I wish Glock never stopped using this finish. It's so much more durable than the newer matte finish they are using.

·
Registered
2,182 Posts
Good job!

Reactions: SnoMan97

·
Registered
6,381 Posts
My G23 has the shiny black, slick finish, you are right it's pretty good.

Reactions: SnoMan97

·
Registered
18,545 Posts
You can scrape that finish off and it will still not rust.

Yeah, I hear you OP; a nice finish is good, but really a moot point on a gun meant to run hard and fight with.

Im really glad you found what you want, but I like to get mine worn, scratched and dinged.

·
Registered
1,107 Posts
Nice. Glock is getting a lot of flak for there new finish. Hope they wise up and get back to making quality finishes that there known for because I won't be buying another one till they do.

·
Registered
401 Posts

Yeah, I hear you OP; a nice finish is good, but really a moot point on a gun meant to run hard and fight with.

Im really glad you found what you want, but I like to get mine worn, scratched and dinged.
This is one of the main reasons I've got a G19 coming in 10 days. I've got a couple of very "pretty but capable" guns in my collection. I wanted gun that was capable, but not worth the worry if it got a bit worn or Scratched.

·
Registered
701 Posts

True. This one had no finish for Five years and didn't rust.

·
Premium Member
7,276 Posts

I like mine to have some earned character as well. That said, my 19 has that frying pan finish and that sucker hardly shows any wear at all; it's almost a little bit annoying given how much use it's seen over the years.

·
Registered
12,686 Posts
True. This one had no finish for Five years and didn't rust.