Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well hey everyone I am looking to get a couple questions answered on my first carry weapon.

this past summer me and my brother went and took our chl course and i just got my permit or license whatever you wish to call it.
when i got my license i started thinking about what gun i should get and well as of now I'm not sure on where to start.

as far as what i should consider when trying to find a reliable carry, like the pluses and negatives to carrying an semi auto compared to a revolver.

now i have hunted since i was 12 so I'm no newbie when it comes to firearms, but when it comes to finding a carry weapon thats a different story.

so the couple questions i have are:
if a revolver the pluses and negatives to hammerless as to with a hammer?

aspects i should consider when looking at finding the right one.

so more or less the little things.

i don't want to go with a caliber lower than a .380.

i do own a xd 40 5 in barrel and a s&w 38 special.

the one pistol that i like a lot is the sp101 it feels great in my hand but anyways, sorry about the long post hope to hear from some of all.

thanks for all the help!!!!!

·
Registered
1,513 Posts
If you go with a revolver, I would get hammerless. it still has a hammer, it's just covered with a shroud. This helps keep it from snagging on clothing, which is helpful especially if you pocket carry.

What weapon you carry is a very personal decision though, so I honestly don't think I can help you pick what to carry without throwing in my own spin and bias. I know what works well for me, and that's about where I draw the line.

Find a gun you can shoot well, fits you well, is reliable, you can carry comfortably, and has the stopping power and capacity you're looking for.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks. ya im just looking for little tips one what i should consider when looking at buying. like what you just gave me.

·