Defensive Carry banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a Louisiana resident and I am about to sign up for my first concealed carry class but was recently told that I could get a non resident Florida License and save some time. Is there any advantage of getting my Louisiana license being that that is the state I reside in of is the nonresident Florida license just as accepted by local law inforcement.

·
Registered
742 Posts
Travel would be the only problem . Some states do not honor Non resident permits. 1 Example is SC. I have a NR new Hampshire , and it is good all the way to the border of SC

·
Registered
752 Posts
I am a Louisiana resident and I am about to sign up for my first concealed carry class but was recently told that I could get a non resident Florida License and save some time. Is there any advantage of getting my Louisiana license being that that is the state I reside in of is the nonresident Florida license just as accepted by local law inforcement.
I'd check your state's AG website to be sure. While LA may accept FL non-resident permits, it may ONLY be for non-LA residents.
Many states will only accept their own permits for residents.

·
Registered
309 Posts
There is rumor of Louisiana dropping Florida nonresident licenses from their list of honored licenses in the near future. The best reason I can get from anyone is a training issue, but I'm leaning more towards a money issue. After all we all know that it is a bunch of crap that we have to even get a license to carry our legally owned weapons.

That being said, I'd suggest getting a resident Louisiana license instead.

·
Registered
62 Posts
My reason for a Louisiana Permit