Defensive Carry banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been carrying my G26 for a few years now and have been using a CTAC IWB holster quite happily. It was a great first holster, and the price was right when I first made the purchase. The other day, one of the clips broke on me as I was removing it from my belt, and I have taken this as a sign that it is time for an upgrade.

Like many here, I have researched and read reviews up the wazoo for all the options out there, and I was hoping for a little feedback to my thoughts. I posted a "WTB" thread in the trade forum, but have had no luck, so it looks like I will need to place an order.

I am looking for an IWB Leather option that I will be wearing at a 3:30-4:00 position with a loose T-shirt over my belt/rig. I might like to tuck my shirt every once in awhile, so the ability to add/change the clips to make it tuck-able would be a plus, but not mandatory. I also would like to be able to have proper retention, but have a rig that I could re-holster one handed.

My initial research has led me to Nate over at UBG holsters. He seems to get good reviews, the price is cheaper than a few others, and he is advertising a 3-5 week timeframe on his website. It looks like the Striker or Canute would meet all my requirements, and was wondering what the thoughts would be on these two models.

I see that the Striker has a dual spring clip, while the Canute has the dual offset loops with pull the dot snaps. Is there a big difference between these two clip systems? What are the pros/cons of each?

I was also wondering about the few degree difference in forward cant between these two models. The Striker has a 20-22 degree, and the Canute has 22-25 degree forward cant. I just left my CTAC stock and didn't change the cant when I got it, so will I notice a huge difference with the new angle of my G26?