Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
405 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Call me weak minded, paranoid, etc. I'm still working on my comfort with carrying a service-size pistol (H&K P2000) as a CCW.

Right now I carry it at 3:00 using an IWB Black Arch Ace 1 Gen 2. I love it. I wear a serious gun belt, and for shirts, I wear flannels, outdoor shirts, or looser polos as everyday workwear.

And let me be clear, I want to carry full size. 13+1 in one draw, yes, please. I also have thousands of rounds through this pistol, and at this point, firing it is like breathing.

But. I still have that paranoia that it's completely obvious there is a bulge near my ass.

Did I mention I'm a research scientist at a University? Campus carry is legal, but most of the professors, scientists, and grad students here are not gun attuned or comfortable. Several of them abhor campus carry. They definitely aren't from Texas.

Our differing views on CC/guns aside, I like many of them as friends, and even more as colleagues. They generally know I am a shooter, they don't know whether or not I CC on campus. I don't want there to be a rift by someone noticing a bulge.

Anyway, TL:DR, how did you finally say "screw it" and be comfortable CC a full size pistol?

·
Super Moderator
24,630 Posts
I just Do It.

Really.

I started with a Glock 17.

You'll be fine. Really. Are you Tenured yet? Tenure track? That might effect my decision, personally.

Now I carry a government 1911.

·
Banned
854 Posts
Friendships or not, you are legally allowed to carry. Let them deal with it.

That said, your concern is understandable. If you carry directly at 3:00, consider sliding to 3:30 or 4:00. Depending on your sirloin girth, you might be surprised at how much less you print that way (even OWB).

Reactions: OlympicViking

·
Super Moderator
17,983 Posts