Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
One thing that we all have in common is that we are all shooters. And we all know that accidents happen. How many of you have a gun shot blow out kit in your range bag (not in your car) and know how to use it? Not sure if this is the appropriate forum but I hope it stays here so everyone sees it. I am not talking about a Boo Boo kit, I am talking about treating a GSW on the scene within seconds to train someones life.

One another note, if you are carrying a firearm you should also have a blow out kit in your bag/car. Thoughts?

·
Premium Member
10,046 Posts
mercop... Of course I do. I'm a swat team paramedic, so yes.

Dedicated for my range bag, I have a custom made Blow Out kit I put together in a pouch which is only about 7 1/2" x 8" x 2" in size.

In that kit, I do have some "boo boo kit" items such as couple antiseptic wipes, band aids, a couple steri-strips to cover and protect minor cuts and scrapes mainly because those injuries are common at the range and because of all the lead exposure, it's nice to have something handy to keep wounds clean and covered.

But more importantly, the kit I carry in the range bag is geared specifically for gunshot wounds.

In that kit I have hemorrhage control, and airway management items.

Specifically, a CAT tourniquet, pressure dressings, Celox hemostatic agent, Asherman chest seal, 3 1/2" chest decompression needles, nasal pharyngeal airways, triangular bandage and a unique very compact inflatable "pocket mask" with one way valve manufactured by Laerdal. The pocket mask is stored in a size approx. 1.5" X 1.5" yet inflated with 2 large breaths it inflates into a full size pocket mask with one way check valve and fits in my blow out kit nicely. I also have a scalpel and a short 5mm cuffed ET tube for an emergency cricothyrotomy.

That kit is always in my range bag.