Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 97 Posts

·
Registered
4,287 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a lot of trees in my back yard and try as I might, I cannot keep the squirrels off my bird feeder. I have given them their own feeding chair with a corn cob stuck on it - and they use it, but they like the bird seeds too. I want to get something to leave the squirrels with a reminder that the bird feeder is not worth it, but I don't want to kill them.

I am thinking airsoft, but I have no experience with these or know if they are accurate or could kill a squirrel. If airsoft is the right way to go, rifle or pistol? Any recommendations for an accurate airsoft gun? If the gun is all sorts of colorful, that would not be a bad thing either as it may keep the neighbors from calling the cops. I appreciate any info that y'all might have on this issue.

·
Registered
36,812 Posts
Anything less than lethal is not going to deter them. They are persistent if nothing else and will learn to overcome any obstacle you can put up. They will only learn to run at first sight of you. I suggest a Havaheart trap and transport them far away.

·
Registered
6,020 Posts
Glock 19... it's the answer to every "What gun should I use to..." question.

Airsoft won't kill the squirrels. I'd go with that.

·
Registered
1,151 Posts
How's your aim with a slingshot?

·
Registered
1,629 Posts
Hmm... I would say get something battery powered, rechargeable, and full auto. Even then, I doubt it would keep them away, though. A single shot would probably not thwart them. A low powered BB gun might be better suited for squirrel plinking.

·
Premium Member
6,200 Posts
When I was a kid, and the squirrels were getting Grandma's apples off the tree, we would hang a pie pan in the tree and whenever a squirrel got in the tree, we'd ping the pie pan with a BB gun. The noise was enough to scare them off.

They probably came right back as soon as we left, so I doubt it did a lot of long-term good - but it was fun!