Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just heard that a man in NY got his gunfiscated and later announced they made a mistake. The guy is suing.

·
Registered
268 Posts
Do you have a source for them admitting a mistake?

Last I heard they were sticking to their story.

·
Registered
6,587 Posts
Maybe they thought they'd get away with it? A test case? Then it would be a good start for widespread confiscation.

·
Registered
36,326 Posts
Just heard that a man in NY got his gunfiscated and later announced they made a mistake. The guy is suing.
Not a lot of detail, there. Hard to comment, other than in such situations the courts are the recourse we've got.

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
It was on fox news. The news reported that they had made a mistake. I guess they can do background checks based on care workers, nurses, doctors, etc opinions. Not good. The news said that they have flaws in this. I am not good at posting info but a search should bring it up.

·
Registered
268 Posts
Unfortunately all these laws of "good intention" can be used by ambitious pols and "crimefighters to further a political agenda.

btw thanks for the source.

·
Registered
3,481 Posts
Good idea to have a full list of all your makes, models and serial numbers, stored somewhere safe away from the guns, just in case they get taken and not all returned.

·
Registered
36,326 Posts
Good idea to have a full list of all your makes, models and serial numbers, stored somewhere safe away from the guns, just in case they get taken and not all returned.
^ This. :yup:

It's simple enough to create a document that contains the basic info and a couple of photos for every gun in the stable, and then simply store that file on one of the little USB "thumb" drives. A copy can be kept locally, in the safe deposit box, and perhaps elsewhere. Works very well, and doesn't require a lot of effort (if done at time of each purchase/sale).

·
Registered