Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 104 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As a Mechanical Engineer, I've been involved in setting permissible noise limits for manufacturing personnel and at what point an irreversible hearing loss occurs. This affects us gun owners/shooters too, and it also affects our choice of caliber and other factors in our gun selection. This is not as important when you won't be trying to save your life in an outdoor or wide open space encounter as it is when in a car. The damage comes from SPL, Sound Pressure Level.

In an ambient factory environment, 85 db(A) is the standard we currently operate under for a normal work shift in a factory. An SPL level of 90 db(A) is allowable so long as it's not constant and has a reduced number of hours of exposure. That as a basis, we will now talk about handguns.

A .357 Magnum is the standard all handguns are measured against for "Stopping Power". It is a great round and I'm glad I have one. It's a downright pleasure to shoot and I can use lower power .38 specials if I want. But in a confined space like a car, the first time you use it your hearing will be permanently damaged. There's nowhere for the sound pressure level to go.

Facts on noise levels:

Noise Levels Explained:

1. Decibels (db) measure sound pressure and are logarithmic. That means that only a 3db increase almost doubles sound pressure, a 6db increase quadruples sound pressure, etc.
2. Gradual hearing loss may occur after prolonged exposure to 90 decibels or above.
3. Exposure to 100 decibels for more than 15 minutes can cause hearing loss.
4. Exposure to 110 decibels for more than a minute can cause permanent hearing loss.
5. At 140 dBA noise causes immediate injury to almost any unprotected ear.
6. There is also the more extreme ‘acoustic trauma’, which is an immediate loss of hearing after a sudden, exceptionally loud noise such as an explosion.

Comparative noise levels and length of time for damage to occur: