Defensive Carry banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok. So I'm new to carrying. I know there are lots of of options for guns and holsters and it's all opinion. With that said, I'm carrying a SW3913 in a remora holster currently. I like the holster and gun however the grip of the gun is rubbing me raw on my side unless I wear an undershirt.

Any advice on how to help resolve this. I like the idea of combat cut holsters vs full coverage of the handle. I also don't want to wear an undershirt under a t shirt. The gun still has the factory grips.

Wondering if new grips would help, or would rubber be worse. Or would wood be worse.

Just looking for some opinions / advice.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
5,957 Posts
I don't like an IWB holster with a full grip shield either, so I suck it up and wear a ribbed tank undershirt. They're light, breathable, and cheap. I don't notice it even on 100 degree days in the humidity of the Ohio Valley.

Carrying is all about compromises, which ones are you willing to make?

·
Registered
246 Posts
Its hard to say as what bothers one person may not bother another at all. That being said, the guns I have with aggressive grips bother my side. I put rubber grips on all my guns and that fixes the problem for me. I would think rubber or wood grips would probably not bother you as much as the stock ones. Since it is such an individual decision, your best bet is to just try a different grip or overgrip.

·
Registered
3,972 Posts
I prefer a sweat/grip shield of some sort.
Are you carring in a Remora with a Reinforced top?
You might look into another holster. Or even moving the pistol forward or back a little.
Or just try new grips. Even overlays like Traction Grips can make a difference. I put the Lambskin on one of mine and gives a smooth yet very grippable feel.

·
Registered
1,397 Posts