Defensive Carry banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I've lurked for a bit and felt it was time to register and introduce myself.

I'm from Iowa, and I have no experience with guns of any kind (except paintball a little, which doesn't count). Growing up I never knew anyone who owned a gun so I never encountered them even though I always wanted to learn how to shoot. As I got older and out on my own I never had the opportunity to get into guns because, quite frankly, I was too poor to even consider spending a few hundred dollars on a handgun. Plus I didn't want to own one until I had learned how to use it safely. So for a long time it remained one of those "Man, it'd be cool if..." things.

That changed a couple months ago when I started my new career as a over the road truck driver. I spend 28 days a month living out of a truck, but I also make enough that now I have the disposable income to afford a handgun and a reason to have a gun with me in my truck. (I spend the night in some ... shady places that can be pretty remote, so the ability to defend myself should the situation arise is important.) So I applied for and received my Permit to Purchase, then I signed up for a Pistol Safety & Carry Basics class at the end of the month. Once I finish the class I'll know how to handle it safely, so then I can get my Permit to Carry (I've applied, but you need to complete an eligible class to receive your permit) and choose what I want my carry gun to be. (Or I should say my first gun to be, as I hear that much like chips you can't stop at just one.)

Of course, me being a truck driver adds a few complications, as I have to choose a gun that'll be with me though all 48 states. So as much as I like the idea of a Glock 17 with it's large magazines, that probably wouldn't go over very well if I get pulled over in certain states.

·
Registered
427 Posts