Defensive Carry banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got me a new custom leather owb holster delivered today (I can post pics in a bit) and I have a quick question.

It's darn tight, as in retention I mean. Have to struggle with it to draw. Care instructions from the maker says that I should lightly wet the inside of the holster with a spray bottle, holster the pistol (while it's still wet) and put the whole thing in a zip lock bag for 24 hours if it's too snug.

Anyone else think it's a bad idea to put your pistol away, wet, in a zip lock bag over night?

I'm not an expert gunsmith or anything, but I was always told to keep those things dry. This sounds just down right crazy to me.

·
Registered
36,326 Posts
Why not let the gun just sit in the holster for a couple days, then do a handful of "test" drawing/reholstering? Might well be all that it needs.

If you absolutely, positively can't get any improvement without a bit of help, the thin baggie approach is a method that some find useful. The risk is, it can loosen up a gun just enough to the point of being too much, if you're not careful. A little bit goes a long way, here. (And, with most holsters, there's no real going back, as there's no tensioning screw if you screw it up.)

·
Premium Member
5,611 Posts
wrap the gun in seran wrap and let it sit for a day or two in the holster...the seran wrap will take up space and cause it stretch just a touch...... no water needed

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
go to the grocery store and get wax paper..wrap the gun in the plastic grocery bag, then wrap the wax paper around it. shove it in the holster as far as you can and leave it there 24 hours. After 24 hours remove and insert the wrapped weapon in the holster 50 to 100 times..should be perfect after that.

Would not wet a leather holster under any conditions.

·
Registered
346 Posts