Defensive Carry banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok so I have decided to carry federal hydra-shok ... for now we will see what happens once I get into testing them at the range. my question how important is the weight of the bullet. I will be using them a xd40 subcompact, and I am new to shooting handguns, been more involved with shotguns and rifles for hunting the rest of my life. Anyway I have been looking around and it seems that many LE and government organizations use this hydra-shok ammo. I am just uncertain how the weight of the bullet will affect the shot. figured what better place to come for advice. BTW these rounds would be used for home defense, as I do not really like the idea of carrying a 12gauge goose gun around a dark house if I think something maybe up ... seems like a little overkill. any advise welcome.

stay safe

·
1952 - 2006
1,371 Posts
I carry and recommend the 230gr HydraShok.

My preference is to hurl the biggest, heaviest bullet I can, within reason of course. A half ounce of lead at 850 fps fills the bill for me.

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
A shotgun is arguably the best HD weapon available. Your goose gun would be a bit unweildy, tho not hopeless as a barricade gun, but you can get a decent used HD model pump for less than $250.

Might want to read up on HD threads as well, there are VERY few instances where you want to "clear" your house of a suspected badguy... the badguy has all the advantages, especially if you're by yourself. Better to barricade your self in a defensive position behind a shotgun, will a cellphone dialing 911.

·
Registered
17,352 Posts
acparmed said:
I carry and recommend the 230gr HydraShok.

My preference is to hurl the biggest, heaviest bullet I can, within reason of course. A half ounce of lead at 850 fps fills the bill for me.