Defensive Carry banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
829 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to a revolver for CC. I have a 6 shot 357 Colt Lawman and have purchased 2 speed loaders. So for all the revolver professionals:

What is the method for removing spent casings and reloading new... i.e. hand positioning, finger poistion, gun position, assuming one is shooting right handed...

Obviously it will take practice to become quick and adept, but what is the best form and procedure...

Thanks...

·
Registered
22,908 Posts
Its tough to explain in printed word, but I'll try.

I open the cylinder and bump the ejector rod while moving the gun from my right to left hand. It can become on fluid sweeping motion.
Cupping the cylinder in my left hand, gun downrange, I drop the reload into the cylinder. Close cylinder as I switch back to a shooting position.

It takes practice, but once you get it down, its really not hard to do and its fast.

·
Registered
4,178 Posts
Go to Smith and Wessons web site and watch the training clip by Jerry Miculek. It's free. He knows more than I do.

·
Banned
5,252 Posts
I prefer the Stressfire method of reloading a revolver.

Watch the video on the Stressfire method in this link. There is a lot of good info on the whole podcast, and the videos give a great demonstration on the Stressfire method.

037 The Revolver Round-Table

Biker

·
Registered
1,524 Posts
Go to Smith and Wessons web site and watch the training clip by Jerry Miculek. It's free. He knows more than I do.
Amen.. My wife loved the videos. Also, you may want to try a defferent speedloader. I don't know about moonclips but I like the HKS for my Ruger SP-101 but not for my S&W 637. Even with the compatable grips on the 637.

·
Banned
1,098 Posts
Lesson from an old mason (the guy that taught me the trade)

You concentrate on doing it right, speed will come

·
Premium Member
4,330 Posts
Practice at home using some snap caps or dummy loads.