Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 82 Posts

·
Registered
571 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Brief background on my work so this story makes sense. I work as a Service & Repair Technician for a major US wireless carrier. I work for corporate, not a 3rd party dealer. My company has a strict no-carry policy.

The first two stores I worked in were in very good neighborhoods (for anyone that knows South Florida, I worked in Coral Springs then Delray Beach). I chose to work at both stores, having originally taken the job in Coral Springs then opting to transfer to Delray Beach to work closer to home.

Then I was transferred to the West Palm Beach location because my skills were needed there when a longtime "Super Tech" took a job working in the Development division. I was not asked, but was told I'd be heading up there. The move was not optional.

This store is in an awful neighborhood. We're talking very close proximity to the county jail and in one of the highest crime-rate areas of Palm Beach County. In the last ten days alone a few major crimes have occurred.

* Last Thursday the police set up a drug dealer in a sting operation. The drug dealer opened fire on police in the parking lot of a Tire Kingdom about 150 yards from my store, just across the intersection. Several blocks were locked down with about three dozen police officers with tactical gear and assault rifles. Two airships were on station. A SWAT team ended up apprehending the dealer.

* Last Saturday the Shell gas station across the street from my store (about 100 yards away) was robbed at gun point. One of the more trigger happy assailant squeezed off a shot into a drink cooler before leaving but according to police "didn't seem to be shooting at anyone in particular". From what I understand so far these crooks have not yet been apprehended.

* Then Monday night somebody was stabbed in an apparent domestic dispute outside the KMart in my shopping complex (also about 100 yards or so from my store).