Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
490 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If you had to chose which to shoot, which would be your choice and why?
Also, in looking at the place near me where they offer this, they also offer IHMSA International Handgun Metallic Silhouette Association. Anyone ever heard of it? I'll look into it when I have more time. Just wondered if that might be a good choice also?
Thanks

·
Registered
343 Posts
To preface my comments, I have not shot either IDPA or USPSA, but I have considered both. Some background: I started shooting "practical" pistol competitions back in the late 70s, when the IPSC was pretty new, and there weren't all that many local or state affiliates. (I had to drive a little over 100 miles to shoot in our monthly matches.) Everyone shot pretty much "stock" pistols at the time, and it was just what I was looking for - "practical practice" with my everyday pistol. But of course as the organization grew and competition became more heated, customized "race" guns started showing up and pretty much took over the sport. Many of us drifted away from the sport due to rising costs and shift of focus.

Fast forward to more recent times, where Bill Wilson and a number of the original IPSC competitors realized that many of us had been left behind by the changes in IPSC competition. This led to the founding of IDPA, which was an attempt to bring back the basics that the original IPSC had started out with. Judging by what I have observed in my local area, it seems that IDPA is more in line with what I used to shoot in the early days of IPSC, and the USPSA is more like what IPSC became as time went on. There are a lot more modifications to the pistol and a lot more specialized equipment allowed in USPSA than there is in IDPA, or at least that's my perception.