Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 140 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm looking for a rifle to use in the event I need to join a militia. It won't be used for any other purpose.

What rifle would you suggest, and why?

I'm a Marine Corps veteran of 8 years. In the military I had the privilege to use a variety of weapons including the M16A4, M4, and M27 IAR. And I've occasionally had the pleasure of shooting some of my friends' personal rifles.

One impression I was left with is the M16/M4 jam a lot and shoot surprisingly dirty, especially compared to the IAR, so I was VERY surprised to discover that the AR15 was the most popular rifle. (Slightly less surprised after learning about piston vs gas driven).

I'm sure there are various reasons for this popularity...price point, availability, many different manufacturers, customization options, owning a gun that's similar to what the military uses, or maybe it's just better than everything else...I'm more focused on pure functionality, even if it looks hideous, has no customization options, is difficult to find, costs a small fortune, and has bever been in a Call of Duty game. (I exaggerate, but hopefully you know what I mean).

Unfortunately, I'm no expert...just someone who's used a few different guns and now want to own the best available semiautomatic rifle, so I could use some advice.

What I've done up til now is go to every gun store I can find, talk to employees, gunsmiths, read forums online, watch YouTube videos, and read comparison reviews.

Some guns I'm considering:
H&K SR556 (the civilian version of the IAR), Bushmaster ACR, IWI Tavor, Steyr Aug, IWI Galil, M14/M1A, Mini 14/30.

Again, I don't care about price point, availability, or customization...just pure functionality...Accuracy/precision, reliability, endurance, durability, etc.

So what rifle would you suggest, and more importantly, why?

·
Super Moderator
23,995 Posts
Welcome, Macgyver!