Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's my dilemma. I currently live in Idaho. Buying a gun here is easy, in and out in like 20 minutes.

I'll be in Oklahoma for 10 weeks starting in about a month. Will I be able to purchase guns while I'm a "temporary resident" there? How does that work?

I'll be there for over 2 months, so I could get a driver's license while I'm there, sorta establish residency. Not really a problem, because I'll be moving to Utah as soon as I leave Oklahoma.

On the same note. My Idaho CCW is honored in both OK and UT. I know Utahans get Idaho permits all the time, due to reciprocity, etc. If I am a UT resident, I know my ID CCW will still be legit, but will I have to get a resident CCW as well????? Or, will I be OK with the ID permit??

·
Premium Member
25,483 Posts
jar - I cannot advise with authority but - I would guess, as in many states, 90 days would be required to establish true residency - until that time IMO you'd be relying on your home state re a DL and CCW.

Purchases I think will depend on longarm or handgun. The former should be OK but latter, would usually have to be FFL to FFL one state to the other. If you have a friendly FFL at home to take delivery of a handgun then it should be possible to buy one in OK and ship it back for later collection.

Others may either correct me or add to the subject.

·
Registered
2,034 Posts
That is interesting, I know in Missouri you have to live here for 6 months before you are considered a resident. I would believe that Chris is right on how you would need to do it tho.

Most state laws are stupid in this matter.

Ti.

·
Super Moderator
25,533 Posts
jarhead79 said: