Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
681 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
.....I'm to skinny? I"m 6 foot 1 inch and weigh 184. I have been CCing for over 10 years. I have tried IWB several times and it is not even close to comfortable. Am I missing something? Doing it wrong? I would really like to make it work so I can carry dressed nice without some kind of a jacket. Thanks for any input.

Reactions: TeflonDon

·
Premium Member
5,957 Posts
I'm 6'5" and 200, and IWB carry with a tucked shirt 5-6 days a week. Bigger guns like Sigs and Berettas. I carry in hybrids from White Hat holsters with a Wilderness Tactical 5 stitch instructors belt, at about the 4-4:30 position. The belt, holster, cant, and ride height have to all work together. I can't do single clip straight drop IWB or OWB. But with the clips adjusted to give just a bit more than the standard FBI cant, they hide and carry like a dream. I'm in and out of various cars and trucks all day, and rarely sit in one that makes me notice the gun.

·
Registered
681 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I just want to hide my Shield 9mm. I know I'll get roasted for this but what is FBI cant?

·
Registered
3,138 Posts
When I first started IWB I had it at about 4:00. It agrivated my back. I then tried it at 3:00. It hurt my hip. I then moved to 1:00-2:00 area or Apendix carry. This has been the sweet spot for me. A shorter gun is most comfortable but, I sometimes carry a 4" 357 revolver. I have carried a Glock 21 in that position also. These days I only carry Snub Revolvers, mostly J-Frames. I only buy shirts that can be warn out of the pants. I recently attended a wedding wearing a Suit and carried my 442 in a Belly Band placing the gun in the Apendix area under my pants but on top of the tucked in shirt. Just below the belt line. It worked well. It was easy to get at and I had my speed strips, one in each jacket pocket. You just have to move the gun around and find your sweet spot. Then dress around the gun.

·