Defensive Carry banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,032 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been seeking the Holy Grail of CC handguns for about 20 years now and have owned/carried a lot of 9mm, .40 caliber and .380 weapons ... oh, yeah, also a few J-frame Smith&Wessons. I'm essentially a Glock fanboy, but there are times I would really like a single stack 9mm (especially now that I've stockpiled a bunch of Federal 124 HSTs in standard pressure}.

When the Glock 43 came out, I thought I'd gone to heaven, so I bought two of them, added Ghost Edge trigger connectors, Ameriglo Proglo front sights with the orange ring around the tritium, and rubberized Traction Grips. Everything was fine until I learned at local IDPA matches that my right thumb was riding the slide catch lever and preventing me from going to slidelock with any degree of certainty. Sold them both, picked up another Gen 4 Glock 26 and it was like 'old home' week --- I am pretty fast and accurate with that little gun --- but the longing for a potential pocket nine remained etched in my old, retired brain cells. (Too much time on my hands and too many long morning walks.)

I've got a Ruger LCP in FDE with the red aluminum trigger and I shoot it OK for a hammer-fired gun. And, I like having a true pocket carry option with a gun made in my home state of AZ. But, I'm wondering if some of you have been having good luck with the Kahr CM9. It's only about four ounces heavier than the LCP (empty) and I've seen Hitchcock45 carrying one in an Alabama kydex holster in his right front pocket. I've owned two CM9s in the past and one PM9 and found them to be reliable, and as long as I ride that front sight during the looooong trigger pull, the bullets go where you place them. At least my right thumb doesn't tangle with the slide catch release on the CM9s.

Thanks for sharing your experiences and your method(s) of carry with your CM9/PM9.

·
Registered
10,756 Posts