Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,116 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I handled and really liked a Keltec PF-9 today and have questions about them. For those who own these guns how reliable are they? Do they require a break in period or are they good to go out of the box? Would you this a quality firearm for one looking for a small/ slim 9mm for carry?

·
Registered
112 Posts
EDC S&W 340M&P,Carry Permit holder in FL and PA.
I think deep down you already know the answer to your question.
I value my life at slightly more than $300.:wink:
To be fair I have no experience with the 9mm Keltecs, but I do have personal experience with 2 p32's and 2 p3at's all went back for repair at least once and two went back twice.
I know, I know
:boese51:

·
Registered
204 Posts
I,ve run about 500 rounds thru the thing and find no real fault
other than being hard to hold on to.
Spent some time deburing and removing sharp edges on the grip and that,s made the thing more fun to shoot.
The gun is My wifes EDC and I'm okay with that.

·
Registered
785 Posts
I carried one for about a year. Loved it. When I traded it, it had about 3,000 rounds through it with absolutely no problems. Except for the wide trigger pad, it was completely stock. No "bluff 'n' buff". So, why did I trade it? I wanted something a little larger, with an SA or striker-fired trigger action, and more rounds. I settled on the XD9SC - it's a honey.

·
Registered
3,055 Posts
We have one as a rental at the range where I work. Lots of people try it before buying their own, not many people care to have a long range session with it. It rarely gets cleaned and has not had any problems related to durability yet. I don't recall if we put it in the rental rotation new, or if it was used but it has run without any kind of break in by us. We clean it with #9 and foaming bore cleaner, clean that with Gunscrubber and lube with X1-r grease.

·
Registered
306 Posts