Defensive Carry banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello friends.
I'm in Minnesota. And my mother is finally ready to buy a handgun for home protection. I have no experience with handguns, so I don't know what to recommend.
So, she is about 5ft 4in tall. Strong for her size, deceptively strong
What type of small handgun would have more controllable recoil?
Also, please tell me in plain English, what caliber would be recommended for considerable stopping power? (I have been researching this topic, but with 834,478,289,389,548 websites with opinions, I am more confused now than ever before.)
Should some brand of handguns be avoided?
Also, semi-auto is a must.
And finally, is it possible to get something for under $250 used?

·
Registered
1,871 Posts
take her to a local shooting range that rents handguns and let her try a few. The people there will be able to size her up, and recommend something appropriate. And while you're there you may want to look into the both of you taking a beginner handgun class.

My wife is 5'2" 106 LBS and I've found a good old 38 special is the best handgun for her. There are bigger calibers and numerous other handguns but It comes down to what she can control and hit her target with and has complete confidence in. And for her, that's a 4" S&W 586. For some women, especially those who are small framed with small hands, racking the slide on a semi auto is difficult. So you may want to reconsider a good revolver.

·
Registered
520 Posts
- Don't recognize your location but have some knowledge of open carry and concealed carry if your mom is going to carry it with her.
- A gun safety class is a must.
- A revolver has less parts to go wrong. Not sure why a semi-auto is a must as a 38 revolver is easy to conceal if that is what she is going to do.
- She won't feel as much recoil with a heavier gun but she may get tired with a heavy gun.