Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
10,770 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been reloading for about two years for both pistol and rifle. I use a Dillon 550B progressive press for reloading 9mm and 45 ACP. Recently, while reloading 9mm I began to notice that I was getting longitudinal scratch marks on the exteriors of my casings. I called Dillon and they asked me whether I had lubricated my carbide dies when I first started using them. I told him that I had not. He ridiculed me and told me that "everyone lubricates their dies".

I carefully read the Dillon manual when I first set up my system and there was nothing in there that said that lubrication was required for carbide dies. I also watched the Dillon video which also made no mention of using lubrication.

What do you guys do? Do you use lubrication or not? I've never heard of lubricating the dies themselves. Of course, I do lubricate my rifle casings when I resize with my RCBS Rock Chucker.

If you do use lubrication for your pistol casings, how and what do you use?

·
Premium Member
5,483 Posts
I don't lube my carbide dies for straight wall cases. The marks you see mean nothing and will not affect the integrity of the case. That seems like a strange statement from Dillon. Bottle neck cases are a different story, always lube them.

·
Registered
3,088 Posts
No lube here using carbide dies on pistol.

I also have 357SIG Dillon dies, and don't use lube with them either (although Dillon says to), I just make sure the cases are polished well, zero issues. Pistol cases just don't have the large amount of bearing surface that rifle brass do. The only handgun I do lube is .30 Luger, but next time I load a batch I'm going to try the same trick a lot of 357 SIG reloaders do. I'll try sizing initially using 9mm carbide die, then finish off the case necks using my steel .30 Luger die.

BTW, RCBS instructions state that lubrication is not required with their carbide dies.......

Chuck

·