Defensive Carry banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to the gun world here. When i get home i am going to be getting a muzzle loader for hunting purposes. I was looking around on some websites like basspro cva ect. I sow special cleaning kits for just muzzle loaders. Is this really needed or can i just use the things i use to clean my 9mm. which is a cleaner/penetrating oil.

·
Registered
181 Posts
I can't speak to cleaning up with black powder substitutes like Pyrodex or similar products, but, if you use black powder, NEVER use petroleum based products on a muzzleloader for cleaning! You end up with a black tar like mess. Hot water is all you need to clean away black power fowling. TC makes some good products for bore seasoning and rust protection, and I'm sure there are others out there.

·
Super Moderator
25,608 Posts
I have a couple of flintlocks, and if you are using black powder you can clean the weapon using just water and patches.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
ok thanks i will take a look when i get home in 10 days or so in the store for some stuff any more advice on this will help thanks

·
Registered
262 Posts
I shoot flint with straight black powder, and hot water + a little dish soap always works for me. Push the ramrod w/soaking wet patch in and out like a plunger. With a caplock, you can fit a plastic or rubber tube over the nipple (other end in a can) to keep the dirty water from spraying all over. With a flintlock, wrap a towel around the stock to help keep the dirty water off the stock and point the touch hole down. Some rifles allow you to easily take the barrell off the stock, which can make things even easier.