Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
278 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here's the deal everyone, I been shooting a Firestorm .380 for about a year now and unless I miss my count I have about 2100 flawless rounds down the pipe. However 3 months ago I started shooting KPDL which is a monthly steel target match here in Kentucky. My problem lies with the .380 shell. It just doesn't have enough power to knock down the steel. For example I shot the same target 8 times, an entire mag and still, it stood mocking me. Most of the time the .380 gets the job done, but the other 20% it leaves me wanting a more powerful round. So, I have been shopping!

I have decided to get a new 9mm carry gun and I have narrowed it down to 3 choices. My requirements were, 9mm single stack, 24-27 oz, 3 to 3.5 inch carrel, DAO or DA/SA. That's it and here is what I found.

Kahr K9

S&W 3913 NL

Para Ordinance Carry 9

The weapons are all very close in weight and size, cost is close enough with about a 100$ spead between them. What I need to know is which gun would be the best value for the money. Which one won't need 8 trips back the factory, and gunsmith to get working. They are all very nice in my hands, help me out here. Thanks

·
Registered
401 Posts
I like them in teh order that you have them posted, but I would only carry the 2nd one as the 1st is associated with the Moonies and I think the 3rd is Canadian.

·
Registered
129 Posts
I have a Kahr and its very dependable and put together tight. The maufacturer suggest 200 rounds as a break in before carrying the gun. I have shot almost 500 rounds out of mine and not had one issue at all and I have shot various ammo and it seems to take all well. They conceal very well and are pretty acurate with tight grouping's. There is hardly any recoil with these either. Great gun, I would not get rid of it at all.

·
Banned
13,684 Posts