Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Banned
330 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello shooters!
I am looking to purchase a AR-15 rifle that is extremely reliable for both home defense & plinking at targets! I am no beginner to shooting this style of rifle --I shot Colt's M-16 for 3 years while active in the Marine Corp! I need a AR-15 rifle that has a barrel lenght of 18 thru 20 inches long and is extemely resistant to jamming!

Thank-You for your thoughts!

·
Registered
277 Posts
i think Bushmaster and RRA are very reliable AR15s , i own a Bushmaster AR15 and i never had a FTF or FTE i have it over a year now. That time i was looking for AR15s was when there was the "Obama panic" i should have waited and bought a RRA i like their trigger systems.

·
Registered
1,849 Posts
Very little real difference for the average shooter in quality or reliability between the major players. DPMS, Bushmaster, Rock River, S&W, Armilite, Colt.

·
Registered
275 Posts
I'm a bolt action guy myself, but the two names I've read good reviews on, and "opinions from owners" regarding the AR-15 is Colt and Bushmaster are quality firearms. All from the internet, so take it for what it's worth.

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
If you were looking for carbines you'd be set: Bravo Company USA, CD Defense, Colt, LMT, and Noveske all make the best factory carbines on the market, period. Unfortunately only one of these companies makes a solid quality 20" barrel upper (Bravo Company M16 upper). You can have a durable and reliable A2- or A4-length rifle made by a number of companies: ADCO (Steve), G&R Tactical (Grant), Global Tactical (Denny), MSTN (Wes), and probably a couple others I'm forgetting to mention. All of them will have recommendations on barrels, since that's the part that will hold you up the most unless you want a heavy barrel.

On a side note, I can see where the full length rifle would be cool for a range gun, but I'd be very hesitant to grab one for home defense due to that length.