Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy, I'm a new member from Wisconsin.
I'm somewhat new to concealed carrying. I've done it on and off for 6 years but have only started seriously carrying every day this past year. Actually I have a question that seems to be pretty common among newbies.

I use a 1.5" leather gunbelt from Relentless Tactical and have noticed that my gun bounces or the grip hangs back farther than I would like when I wear it at a comfortable tightness. If I go one notch tighter, the gun doesn't bounce but I feel like I'm going to be sick. I'm using a Milt Sparks VM2 holster so I don't think that's the problem. It's driving me crazy though.
Do I just need to learn to live with the bounce and cool it because it's unlikely people can see it anyways? I'm pretty skinny right now, about 160 and 5'10" and I usually carry at 4 or 5 o'clock.

·
Premium Member
4,253 Posts
Welcome to Defensive Carry :wave: The best forum for sharing ideas and experience. You will find plenty of great information here.

Help us keep this forum great by remembering to treat others as you want to be treated.

I am from Kansas.

·
Registered
Northwest Oregon
19,531 Posts
Welcome aboard from Orygun! I have punched an extra hole because of this problem.

·
Super Moderator
17,985 Posts
Welcome from North Carolina, like LimaCharlie I have done the same thing.

Reactions: Rhinoman

·
Super Moderator
50,609 Posts
Welcome...

from Central Florida!

To me, a loose fit gives a sloppy draw, not impossible, but too loose for my taste. I just tighten it up and get used to it, there are bigger problems in life to worry about.IMHO

A good 5-stitch Instructor's Belt can work pretty well. I also have an expensive, SUPER thick leather belt that doesn't have to be real tight, but the thickness makes threading the holster a little tougher and a bit more difficult to slide the holster for final adjustment.

RET :31:

·
Registered
623 Posts