Defensive Carry banner
1 - 20 of 245 Posts

·
Registered
129 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This new sign is at Post Oak Mall in College Station, TX.

I know it is not a legal 30.06 sign, so should have no effect on CHL holders, but what are your thoughts?

I will email the College Station chief of police and inform him that any arrest would be illegal, as per the real 30.06 statute.

·
Registered
1,482 Posts
I'm no lawyer but as I read this arrest for criminal trespass is warranted under this statue.

Texas Penal Code - Section 30.06. Trespass By Holder Of License To Carry Concealed Handgun:

§ 30.06. TRESPASS BY HOLDER OF LICENSE TO CARRY CONCEALED
HANDGUN. (a) A license holder commits an offense if the license
holder:
(1) carries a handgun under the authority of
Subchapter H, Chapter 411, Government Code, on property of another
without effective consent; and
(2) received notice that:
(A) entry on the property by a license holder
with a concealed handgun was forbidden; or
(B) remaining on the property with a concealed
handgun was forbidden and failed to depart.

(b) For purposes of this section, a person receives notice
if the owner of the property or someone with apparent authority to
act for the owner provides notice to the person by oral or written
communication.
(c) In this section:
(1) "Entry" has the meaning assigned by Section
30.05(b).
(2) "License holder" has the meaning assigned by
Section 46.035(f).
(3) "Written communication" means:
(A) a card or other document on which is written
language identical to the following: "Pursuant to Section 30.06,
Penal Code (trespass by holder of license to carry a concealed
handgun), a person licensed under Subchapter H, Chapter 411,
Government Code (concealed handgun law), may not enter this
property with a concealed handgun"; or
(B) a sign posted on the property that:
(i) includes the language described by
Paragraph (A) in both English and Spanish;
(ii) appears in contrasting colors with