Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the gun world and my wife and I are interested in retaining our concealed carry lisc. We live in Oklahoma and would like to know what is the best to start out with as far as caliber and what-not. Any advise would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

·
Registered
2,932 Posts
Welcome from Memphis. I would suggest that you find a local gun shop (LGS) that has a range and rents guns. You and the wife should spend the day and shoot as many guns as you can afford. You will get a feel for the different manufacturers, calibers, frame sizes, recoil, etc. Don't buy anything just yet. Make notes while you are there and don't rely on your memory. Bring you notes back home and post your feelings and questions here about the different makes and models. You will get more feedback at that time than you ever wanted with a lot of good information. It may even be information overload.

Narrow it down to 2-3 for you and the wife and go back and use those again and make sure.

·
Registered
11,431 Posts
You need to find the pistol that fits your hand comfortably and the recoil is not excessive and IMHO the caliber should start with a "4".
Welcome Aboard and Greetings from Rocky Top Tennessee

·
Registered
2,932 Posts
But Chief, he's probably not looking for a .410 shotgun. Ya Think?

·
Premium Member
527 Posts
Welcome from mid-Michigan. Like the rest have said, get your hands on a few see how they feel in your hand, try them out if possible. 9mm is a good caliber to start, not too much recoil, lots of capacity.

Good Luck!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I've hunted a few times and have shot a few rifles and shotguns but new to the pistol. Don't really know what I'm looking for. Thank you for the advise. I will look into the local gun shops

·
Registered
2,520 Posts
Enjoy the forum.................... :wave:

·
Registered
2,167 Posts
Welcome from Southwest Florida.

·