Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, my company just got acquired, effective last week. I just got the new employee agreement paperwork when I saw the clause I was dreading to see.
"Employees are forbidden from possessing any weapon while working, operating, or in <companyname> vehicles, present on <companyname> premises,
etc etc etc.

Pisses me off. I liked this job, and I liked my coworkers, but I need to figure out what I should do here. Should I just ignore it? How do you guys deal with this?

·
1943 - 2009
10,368 Posts
Sorry, Nitro, don't know what to tell ya. For sure, it's a crummy situation from a CCWer's POV, but only you can decide what to do about it.

FWIW, I'm 60 days away from full retirement (then I can go shooting every day if I want to). If this was my situtation, I'd probably advance my retirement date.

Best I can do, amigo. Best of luck.

·
Registered
570 Posts
Nitro
I'm also a Network Engineer (Out of work currently)
With the job market what it is, in my area anyway, I'd suggest you deal with it.

·
Registered
3,085 Posts
Hard to say without knowing the details. If caught, would the management press charges? That could jeopardize your permit status ... and possibly involve jail depending on where you work. Lots of variables to weigh out before you make that kind of decision.
Jack

·
Registered
569 Posts
If "made" carrying in a restaurant that wants to prohibit "our kind of people" you will be asked to not come back. Can you afford this with your job?

My suggestion would be to play by the rules on this one.

Can you opt for carrying a pocket knife for an added edge if the need should arise? Obviously, this would be much easier to explain away if confronted than a pistol would be.

·
Registered
822 Posts
It's a personal decision. Only you can weigh the options with the consequences and then go from there.

Good luck to you, sorry I couldn't have been more help.

Wayne

·
Registered