Defensive Carry banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a NY resident with a NY premise/Target and hunting license but no concealed carry here. I also have a Florida concealed carry.
I would like to buy a firearm in FL to leave in FL, but a store won't sell me as I have to have a Florida address. I was thinking about buying a gun from a friend who does live there and is licensed there. What is the best way legally to do so for both of us? Can he sell me straight out? Should We go through a dealer (or will have same issue as no Florida address for me) or lastly, any ideas on how to legally have an address there?

·
Registered
1,298 Posts
If you don't have a FL address, where in FL would you be leaving this firearm?

·
Registered
400 Posts
I don't believe that Florida requires a background check for private party firearm sales, so you and your friend could do the transaction without any issues, as long as it's a firearm your friend already owns. If your friend were to buy a a new gun so that he could sell it to you, that would be a strawman sale and that's illegal.

Getting a legal address in FL is easy, but won't do anything for you. You can go rent a mailbox at a postal store and have a valid street address. That's not going to help you buy a pistol though. You'd need to have a valid FL ID, and to get that you'd have to turn in your NY ID.

·
Registered
605 Posts
I believe you need to be a state resident or a dual-state resident for a private purchase with another same-state resident to be legal in any state, that I am aware of. Is Florida different in this respect? You need to research the law. Holding a non-resident CCW doesn't really matter in this respect.

If that is the case, and if you can satisfy the dual-state resident requirements in Florida, then you may be ok. Right now it does not sound as if that is the case. Better safe than sorry.

·
Premium Member
6,726 Posts