Defensive Carry banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
9,083 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
For my Defender I have been using a Black Arch Single Clip Protos Holster for several years. The initial post is here: Black Arch Single Clip IWB Protos-M Review

The holster is very comfortable when riding low. However, the low ride seriously impedes the appendix draw. By riding high, and with a lot practice, I have managed to shave off about 0.3 seconds off my appendix draw. The Single Clip Protos becomes unstable when riding high, though, and "flips" due to horizontal pivoting (pivoting over the belt line). Thus, I had to make a wedge, discussed here: Making a comfortable wedge (Pay attention Holster Makers!)

The result is once again a comfortable holster that is stable when riding high. Also, by position the wedge at an angle, it performs the function of a wing as well, preventing vertical pivoting (pivoting along the bore and causing the butt of the gun to stick out) and tucking the butt of the gun inward. Win-win.

When I decided to pick up a spare Protos holster in case something happened to my current Protos holster, I learned that Black Arch no longer makes a Defender/1911 Protos holster. So, to my dismay, I began the process of looking for another appendix holster.

A drawback with the Protos is that the clip is mounted on the receiver mold, which greatly adds to the thickness of the holster. You can see this in the first picture of the first-linked thread above. So I decided to look for holsters with clips offset from the receiver to reduce the overall thickness of the holster.

After a lot of searching, I ran across The Reckoning by Crossbreed. As you can see below, the clips are offset and have a small range of ride height adjustment. I like the metal clips, but they tend to cut my shirts, so I added JB weld to the tips, as discussed here: Using J-B Weld to fix metal tabs that cut through clothing I'll paint the JB Weld Black to match the clips.