Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Banned
1,890 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I live in ky., and ihave a ccw permit. Ky. allows open carry. My question is, if i'm c.c. and accidently show my gun does the open carry part come to my rescue?

·
Premium Member
24,508 Posts
Not really familiar with KY laws, but VA is also a CC/OC state. To my knowledge the only problem here would be your weapon concealed in a location that OC is required (establishments that sale alcohol for consumption on premise).

·
Registered
304 Posts
The only time this would be a problem is if someone was under the impression you purposfully flashed your weapon at them. Now you are guilty of brandishing and in a world of hurt. Otherwise, if OC is legal, you just went from CC to OC, no problem. Alternatively, the CC is a safety net in case your OC falls underneath your jacket or shirt accidentally.

Edit: bear in mind I am not familiar with KY laws. I am not a lawyer and don't pretend to be on the internet (or elsewhere). Just speaking generally, and basing that on CO laws.

·
Super Moderator
50,596 Posts
Basically, if you're in a place that OC is OK, and you are CC (and that's legal, also)...then a modest conversion from CC to OC would seem to be fine. If the wind blew up your shirt...no problem. Is that what your were referring to?

·
Premium Member
5,038 Posts
Who's impression?

The only time this would be a problem is if someone was under the impression you purposfully flashed your weapon at them. Now you are guilty of brandishing and in a world of hurt.
Again INAL and do not know Ky law.

I hope your law doesn't leave it up the the viewpoint of a single someone and their impression -- hoplophobes viewpoint trumping common sense.

Here in Virginia, we have a reasonable person sort of law:

§ 18.2-282. Pointing, holding, or brandishing firearm, air or gas operated weapon or object similar in appearance; penalty.