Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm nearing the time to get my ccw for PA. As I understand the law, I just need to go to the county sheriff's office and bring my drivers license, names of 2 references and a check for the fee.

I see they state they have 45 days to either issue or deny it. I have no reason to be denied so I will get the permit, but for those of you who have gotten it, how long did it take you to have it issued?

·
Registered
3 Posts
Most counties utilize the instant background check. Unless the county you are applying in has an over zealous Sheriff, you should have it within about 5 minutes. Although, there can be a backlog of an hour or more on the instant checks with the increased volume of applications.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'm in lehigh county. So there's a good chance I will walk in and walk out with it same day? That would be ideal

·
Registered
82 Posts
As a non resident, my first CCW PA permit took about 2 weeks in Susquehanna County. They did call my 2 references and the cost was $26. My 2nd permit was done in Scranton, you do need 2 references, they do the background check, $20 and you are outta there in less then 30 minutes.

·
Registered
982 Posts
My wife and I both went to Scranton and we both had our PA. permits in hand and were on our way home in a half hour.. PA does it right! If you go to Scranton, I bet you will like the sheriffs deputy that processes your permit. bob

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
That's good to know that it shouldn't take too long.

Can the references be family or do they need to out of the family?

·
Registered
439 Posts
Allegheny county, took all of the allotted time. In fairness though, they were swamped with applications. I mailed mine in. When I came in to pick it up, there were around 15 people in line picking up their permits.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #11