Defensive Carry banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I tend to wear my pants around my hips (top of the pelvis maybe?). Right at the top of those big bones on the side. I don't know that this would be considered low-rise, but definitely not high-rise.

I've had issues when I tuck IWB into my pants that the bottom of the gun will dig into my leg or rear end. Or sometimes into the edge of my hip bone where the femur joins the pelvis (sorry I'm not a doctor).

I'm therefore thinking of trying a high ride holster to hopefully put more of the gun up and less down below my waistline to prevent it from digging into these areas below my waist.

I'm curious about the folks here and how you wear your pants vs the ride of your holster. I'm wondering if people who prefer a regular or low riding holster might tend to wear their pant waists more up by their belly buttons? Or if people who like high-ride holsters tend to wear their pant waists lower?

Or is this just one of those.....it just depends what gun and holster works for you and pant locations and holster ride really don't matter that much?

·
Registered
4,829 Posts
I’d have to have on suspenders if my britches were falling down no way around that. If your britches are falling down then the belt needs to be tighter, pull your pants up and that should help.

For folks that don’t like a regular belt holster then a belly band is good, but you still need to pull your britches up so they don’t fall around your ankles, hard to run like that if you need too. 👍🏻

Here you go, there is a song about that.....

·
Registered
4,037 Posts
I think you nailed it in your last paragraph. Depends on gun, holster and torso length as well as exactly where on the belt line you call AIWB. I wear a small 2" revolver over my leg at about 2:00 but, I wear a 4" revolver with the barrel right off at center line at 12:15 so the barrel misses my leg when seated.