Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I cant carry yet but im already looking for a ccw. I have a big heavy 4506 S&W .45 right now. I don't even think i could conceal it. :frown:
I figured i would get another .45 so I don't have to stock up on 2 different kinds of ammo.
I'm a big guy with big hands and figured a glock 30 would be good but i have no experience with anything other than my .45 a 1911 and a glock 23.
What kind of gun do yall recommend?
Thanks for the help. :wave:

·
Premium Member
7,579 Posts
larabel,

Prepare to get the phone book of handguns. Every one has their opinion of the perfect carry piece. The best thing you can do is find a range that rents guns and try a few different ones. What works for one of us may not for you.

Depending on your budget, you have an enormous amount of very good guns to choose from. Try as many as you can. Find what shoots best for you and is the easiest to operate. That may not be the smallest and easiest to conceal.

Anything can be carried. It just depends on how much effort you want to put into it. There are folks who regularly carry full-size service pistols effectively concealed. If you like your 4506 or 1911, think of ways to dress around it to conceal. That G23 is no slouch either.

Maybe a new gun is not the answer, but, rather a new way of carrying. Just a thought there. I would never tell anybody to NOT buy a new gun! -lol!

I hope this helps.

Good luck!

·
Registered
158 Posts
Have you checked out a Colt Defender? I spotted one at a gun show a while back and fell in love with it. But didn't have the cash to buy it. I'll get one eventually. But if you're looking for a small semi-auto in .45ACP, at least check it out. Your big hands might make the Defender too small.

·
Registered
2,848 Posts
Hard to go wrong with a Glock. You might also consider the Smith M&P in
.45acp or a Springfield XD in .45acp.

·
Registered
5,327 Posts