Defensive Carry banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
276 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Due to the ammo shortage and price increases I want to buy an air gun and set up a range at home. I've never used an air gun before and am open to any advice you have. Some questions I have for starters are:

1. What air guns would you recommend to someone buying their first, and where would you recommend buying them from?

2. I want to make sure I don't do any damage to my house, so if you use your air gun at home where do you use it and what do you do to prevent damage to your property?

3. Besides the air gun itself, what else do you recommend I buy for use with it?

·
Registered
782 Posts
I'm not familiar with any of the Air guns available on today's market. But, I would use a bb/pellet trap target.

·
Registered
6,282 Posts
I use a Crossman 2240 .22 Co2 pellet pistol and a Beeman QB 78 Co2 .22 pellet rifle. Both are very easy and pretty consistent to shoot. They work fine for squirrels and water moccasins that I occasionally have to dispatch. I would avoid the spring piston guns they tend to be louder and are rough on optics and IMO harder to shoot accurately vs Co2 or PCP.

I target shoot with both of them in my garage. I just made simple box out of scrap lumber lined with commercial rubber backed carpet. I had to double the 1/2" plywood on the back because the pointed pellet were just about completely penetrating it.

·
Registered
217 Posts
Do net search on Stoeger arms. You might try more than one type of projectile since a given rifle may well perform better wsith a particular pellet. Golod luck. The BB pellet trap is a good idea.

·
Super Moderator
19,785 Posts
Are you looking for an air rifle, or air pistol? Will you be shooting mostly indoors or outdoors? How big is your budget?
Space-wise, 10 yards/meters is a good distance if you have the space.