Defensive Carry banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.

I originally tried to obtain a Missouri CCW (I'm a Missouri resident) about 5 years ago after completing the course, submitting, my application and paying for it. I was denied by the sheriff due to an SIS (suspended imposition of sentence) from almost 20 years ago.

Luckily I was able to get the 5 year Utah permit without any problems.

Now that my Utah permit is expiring, I thought I would just simply need to fill out a form to renew, but alas, Utah now requires for any out of state residents that want a Utah CCW to obtain a CCW in their home state as well!

So considering Missouri won't give me a CCW because of this ancient SIS I had when I was 17 (non-violent, non-drug, non-weapon class C felony), and Utah won't renew without me having a Missouri one, I figured my best solution was Florida's CCW, since they allow SIS as long as its been 3 years since completion of probation and you provide court documents that show you've successfully completed it. I guess all I have to do is get those court docs and send it along with my app...but....

Now after Googling a bit, I came across this; MISSOURI HOUSE BILL NO. 859; http://www.house.mo.gov/billtracking...it/HB0859C.htm

It states somewhere in there that if you have a CCW from another state, that the sheriff must provide you with a CCW for Missouri if you pay for it. Is that correct? Such a strange coincidence that this bill JUST PASSED (I think) and it could resolve my issue with obtaining what I originally wanted; a Missouri CCW.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated since this is such a confusing matter.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
6,726 Posts
I can't be sure but I think there is an attorney somewhere in the St Louis area that is just waiting to hear from you. I'm pretty sure the only place you are going to get your answer is from some member of the legal profession.

·
Premium Member
7,276 Posts