Defensive Carry banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Apologies for what may be an extremely redundant topic...

I am new to the experience. I have a S&W M&P22 that I enjoy (when I can find ammo)

I was interested in picking up something in a larger caliber, but frankly, the choices are too much to understand. 223/556, 30-06, something else?

I see a ton of options, styles, sizes, prices, and I'm lost.

I'm looking for something semi-auto that I can attach a nice Zeiss scope onto, but doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Maybe $1000 is the target price. Something for closer-in use, as I'm not looking to reach a mile in accuracy. Also, the ammo availability is one consideration.

If anyone has any links to what they like that I can look at, I'd appreciate the guidance.

·
Premium Member
3,184 Posts
Other than "closer in" what do you plan to use it for?

That info would help us taylor our responses.

·
Registered
1,164 Posts
What range are you planning on using it? Just target shooting, hunting?

·
Registered
2,496 Posts
For $1000 in today's political climate, you're not going to find much of anything.

.223/5.56 is standard. It's like the 9mm of sport rifles. I'd say probably the next standard round for an AR would be .308. If you're looking for something that you probably won't be using out past 200 yds or so, that you could use for CQB or hunting, self defense, etc., than .300 Blackout is also something you should look at. It's basically the same bullet as a .308 (7.62mm) inside a .223 case (.223 case cut shorter - actual metric dimension of a .300 BLK is 7.62x35mm). Hard hitter, but because of the smaller case it doesn't have the same range as the .308. Also has a lot less recoil than a .308 would.

As far as looks go, there's a million different options out there.

·
Registered
11,166 Posts