Defensive Carry banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
25,481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,409 Posts
Do most states have such stringent requirements in the beginning??? I know the legislators were against it for so long and this was probably bargaining to get it to pass. I'm just curious if other states experienced the same 'growing pains' when they first got CCW??
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
24,738 Posts
Q&A On Kansas CC Statute:

From NRA-ILA:

Wichita, Eagle-Beacon:
Friday, Mar. 24, 2006

Q&A ON CONCEALED CARRY



When can people apply for permits? Beginning July 1. Details will be worked out by the state attorney general's office, which is charged with writing regulations and overseeing permits.

When can people begin carrying guns? Concealed carry becomes legal on Jan. 1, 2007. However, people must obtain a permit, and those may not be available until after Jan. 1.

How much does it cost? The permit application fee will be $150. Permits will be good for four years. The renewal fee will be about $100.

Where can people apply? County sheriff's offices will accept applications. Applicants will be fingerprinted. The applications will be forwarded to the attorney general's office, and applicants will be subject to background checks.

Who can get a permit? A U.S. citizen, age 21 or older, who is a resident of the county where the application is filed. The person must have lived in Kansas for at least six months.

Who can't get a permit? Anyone who has been convicted of a felony, dishonorably discharged from the military, is under a restraining order or is in contempt of court for child support. The following will make a person ineligible for five years: being found mentally ill, being convicted of a sex offense, being committed for substance abuse or alcohol abuse, having two convictions for driving under the influence.

What's required to get a permit? Training. The law says that the applicant must present evidence of completion of a "weapons safety and training course" approved by the attorney general, local law enforcement or the National Rifle Association. Additional regulations will be set by the attorney general's office.

Where are guns not allowed?
Guns are banned from sporting events, day care centers, schools, government buildings, the state fairgrounds, houses of worship, bars, prisons, public libraries and places that promote obscenity. Businesses may also ban weapons at their own discretion.

Congratulations, Jayhawks! January 1, 2007! RKBA!
Remember the representatives that supported this at the polls!

:danceban: :danceban: :danceban: :danceban: :danceban: :danceban: :danceban: :danceban: :danceban: :danceban: :danceban: :danceban:
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
25,481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
25,481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Quick draw Mc Carry'' - sometimes, when I am here :wink:
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top